The Lighter Side of Apple Pie

 

From this…..

To this!

I found this on pinterest and thought it was the cutest idea EVAH.

Then I thought, who in the world has that much time on their hands?

Apparently I do, because I made these last night.

They were pretty good, but I have to be honest here and tell you they were a little too much on the healthy side for my taste. Maybe if I had served them with a side of ice cream and caramel sauce.

I don’t know.

I decided to post the recipe anyways, on the off chance that some healthy type people read this blog.

Plus they are pretty cute and they really don’t take that long at all. Your friends will be super impressed, probably not your kids or your spouse, but your friends, your friends will think they are awesome.

Especially if you ply them with wine prior to serving.

These would be great if you have friends with gluten allergies or friends who are diabetic or friends that wear their pants a little too tight.

You could sub out the regular sugar for splenda or another sugar substitute except I can’t think of the names of any other sugar substitutes. You could also use agave nectar in place of sugar, but I am not sure how to approximate the amount of that in the recipe because I have never actually purchased it and I am not sure I know anyone who has.

You could also leave off the top crust and top it with real whipping cream and slivered almonds.

Full of ideas today aren’t I?

Ok.

So chop off the apple tops.

Not to be confused with muffin tops, ok?

Apple tops = good

Muffin tops = not so good

Use a sharp little knife and a spoon to core out the insides. Don’t get it too thin and don’t leave it too thick. Get it just right mmm-kay Goldilocks?

Peel the apple tops and chop them up.

Toss with flour, sugar and lots of cinnamon. Or go one of the diabetic/gluten free routes I mentioned above and leave out the flour and replace the sugar with a substitute.

STEVIA!

I remembered another one.

Then you scoop the apply cinnamony yumminess back into the headless little apple bowls.

There will be about this much leftover.

Eat it.

Trust me.

Line the apples up in a parchment lined pan.

Now.

Quick make the pie crust.

I used this pie crust recipe. It’s my fave. I cut it in half for 5 apples and it was still way too much. Maybe cut the half in half. Got it?

Use a cookie cutter to make the crust tops. Poke a straw through the center to vent.

Bake at 375 for 45-55 minutes.

Serve with ice cream if you want to be completely satisfied.

And caramel sauce.

And wine.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Lighter Side of Apple Pie

  1. mrsraushel says:

    these look yummy! I’ve got a handful of recipes from your blog I still need to try. stop posting such good recipes, Janice! Stop it! Just kidding! See you soon! 🙂

Leave a comment